top of page

25AS: Staff Reflections

25 years. 50,000 leaders. One unified voice, rising together to ensure that every child in this country has access to an excellent education. Thank you for being part of Teach For America's historic 25th Anniversary Summit -- whether in D.C. or through our online presence. We hope that you're now feeling energized and ready to keep up the momentum. As Elisa Villanueva Beard told us in her closing remarks: "When someone says our children aren't enough—that they're not able to beat the odds and change the world—we tell them the truth. That they're dead wrong." We know our children are filled with power, pride, and enormous potential. We know that equity makes all the difference for them. As we unite as teachers, students, parents, school leaders, entrepreneurs, elected officials, activists, and engaged citizens, we put the power of an unstoppable movement behind our kids.

Our Tulsa/Northeastern Oklahoma staff has compiled words of what the 25th Anniversary Summit and Teach For America as a whole has meant to them. Here are some of their reflections:

What has Tulsa / Teach For America - Oklahoma meant to you?

"What a privilege to work among so many dedicated, intelligent, caring people, all focused on moving Oklahoma toward One Day! Seeing so many making personal sacrifices of time, energy, and money to work here and affect our city and subregion has made me so appreciative of the strong, committed hearts of staff and corps members I've come to know. I have been challenged in deep, important ways while working at TFA-OK/Tulsa - and I will be forever grateful for this experience."

"Everything."

"TFA-OK has shown me that a passionate and dedicated group of people can drive change in our city.

I view TFA as a catalyst. For me, this organization has catalyzed my work in education by helping me to deeply explore my passions and how I can leverage those to work with our students, families, and communities. I realized in my third year in Tulsa just how being a corps member and alum perfectly aligns to my personal experiences growing up in a public education system and in a low-income community. I didn't know it even as I applied for TFA in 2009, but I now can't imagine other work that would so fit with what I believe from my own experiences. Working with my students in the classroom, with parents while opening charter schools, and with alumni in our community who are living and leading alongside me - all of these things have catalyzed a movement that is bigger than all of us and that I am so proud to be a part of."

"TFA has opened my eyes to the inequities that impact our students who are living in extreme poverty. I understand that we must work feverishly to demolish the systemic barriers that affect our students' families. I believe deeply that we should set very ambitious goals for our kids and tell them every day they can achieve those goals. I believe it is our responsibility to inspire confidence in our kids by celebrating their growth and achievements. I believe it's critical that our community of partners join in this mission to ensure every child, no matter race, income or zipcode, has access to an excellent education."

"My time in TFA in Tulsa helped teach me what is possible for kids and families and was the beginning of my lifelong commitment to kids and families."

"My time with Teach For America in Tulsa has changed the trajectory of my life - it has helped me figure out not only strengths and passions but how it should fit with what I do on a daily basis that impacts, drives, & carries my theory of change for what all kids deserve -- to be cared for, loved, and empowered through the means of education."

"TFA Oklahoma has pushed me to consider the role I have to be a social justice advocate. It has been a constant source of development -- both professional and personal."

"It has forever shaped my purpose and responsibility to fight educational inequity, especially by showing me what is possible with students and classrooms in my home state."


SOCIAL MEDIA
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
BLOG

 

"Twenty-five years. 50,000 teachers. 42,000+ alumni. Millions of kids. That's a lot of students and a lot of people working in and out of the classroom to expand educational opportunities in America. And everyone's got a story.

 

One day, all children in this nation will have the opportunity to attain an excellent education. All children in this country deserve an education that prepares them to reach their full potential, regardless of where they live, what their families earn, and the color of their skin. Here is a glimpse of what is happening in Northeastern Oklahoma as we align our regional priorities to the national Teach For America movement.

bottom of page